Greenonthego's Blog

sustainable living vs. sustainable budget

Minor melt down… March 8, 2010

Oh my, I almost had a tiny nervous breakdown. I was looking for some bamboo sheets for Katelan, when I came across sheets that said, “rayon bamboo” curious by this term I decided to research bamboo fabric and i found this article that made me almost cry, literally.

Let me explain. Jordyn, my nine month old, is cloth diapered and I made her some bamboo inserts for her Gdiapers. I almost cried when i saw how many chemicals are used to break down bamboo, and that it is marketed as organic but really might not be. I just thought, “wow, I’ve gone cloth to expose her to as few chemicals as possible and then I end up exposing her to a ton of them right in her sensitive area! *sigh*”

After some more reading and calming myself down I realized that bamboo does have a certification through OEKO-Tex. I then thought, “Hooray! she’s safe!”  I also reminded myself that nothing I do will ever be perfect.  I need to relax and remember what Sue (Katelan’s mom) says about what we do most of the time.

I’m on a mission to research fabrics, but at this time unbleached organic cotton and wool might just be the best options. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Bamboo sounds too good to be true. I still want to love bamboo as much as I have in the last nine months. I’m on the fence though. As for hemp, I do not like it because of its smell. Literally I thought someone had lit up and smoked in my baby’s room one morning after she woke up with a very saturated hemp diaper. *yuck* not a happy smell to have when picking up baby, just didn’t feel right. lol

 

Leave a Reply

